2012 (an oh-so-original blog title)

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2012 is suiting you nicely like the perfect pair of shoes. A pair of shoes that makes you feel empowered and in charge of the direction you are carving in your life…a pair that you will take off at the end of the year and say ‘What a wonderful journey, we did it, we wrote all those words, we bled on the pages and showed it to the world.’ Well, that’s where I hope my shoes will be taking me.

This year I decided to do my goal setting a little differently, I actually wrote out a thorough month-to-month plan of attack of what I want to achieve writing wise. I have no doubt in my mind that I will hit all these targets too…they are manageable and working towards my ultimate goals of having a polished manuscript ready to send out to agents!

I’m a strong believer of writing down yours goals and putting them up where you can see them. That way your year won’t be summed up like a forgotten gym memebership if you know what I mean?

So for those of you that haven’t died of shock that I am blogging so soon since my previous post I would like to list the top 5 writing goals I plan to accomplish in 2012.

  1. Revise Project_Graveyard  and submit it
  2. Write a collection of short stories or a novella to sell as an ebook. Every single dollar earned will be going towards charity. Since pursing acting training I haven’t financially been in a position to give back to the world. I believe my muse gifted me with this idea so I have new stories to write on the side as I tackle the revision process of my manuscript…and all in the name of charity. Isn’t it a cheeky little thing?
  3. Participate in NaNoWriMo this year. I did 2 years ago and absolutely loved the community and lots of amazing discoveries have been spawned since then. I have to admit, it gives me a kind of high too.
  4. Submit to a short story competition
  5. maintain a regular blog! (Yes the last one makes me laugh too…I believe this one will be the most challenging)

Time is not free. It is a precious commodity in ones life and that is why it is worth fighting for.  So break a leg…and a finger or two.

Love and Light xx

                                                               5398588765_00e7831981_z_large

“No one can read a book that’s in your head!” Anita Heiss 

Image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/meperdienmiuniverso/


5 thoughts on “2012 (an oh-so-original blog title)

  1. I love the shoe analogy!! (Maybe because I love shoes…;) )
    Good luck with all those writing goals! I will be cheering for you, and looking forward to lots of great blog posts like this one from you. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Overcoming Goal-Shyness « estuarywalkthrough

  3. Nanowrimo was fun! I wrote 50,000 words of my novel last year and I’m still working on it now almost 6 months later! (I did take a break from it after working on it 30 days straight)

      • That’s great to hear!
        If we writers don’t take breaks then we get burned out (or at least I do). The challenge is to not take a too long break! That’s happened to me before, and then I just get too busy.

Leave a Reply

