A Muse Date

My muse has been a bit quiet lately and that in general is a bad sign, a very, very bad sign. Warning bells normally go up at this stage because it means that the essence of my soul is wilting away (not to be melodramatic or anything). Normally  I can catch these signs early because creative creatures such as I tend to take these frustrations out on their significant other, or cat, but I don’t have a cat. Back to my point, since I relocated to another country in a different hemisphere to pursue other creative projects all by myself I don’t have anyone to be pissed off at, annoyed with or damn right emotional with. Honestly, people who date such creative creatures need a trophy of some sort, like really, even I wouldn’t want to date me when in those moods. So what I’m trying to say here is that I didn’t realise that my constant naps, grumpiness and general lack of motivation to do anything is my way of saying ‘Hello!!! CREATIVE CREATURE INSIDE IS DYING!’ Again, apologies for the melodrama, I blame the capslock.

Still dubious that this was the problem I took myself, laptop and notebook (oh and that sulking muse) with me to the nearest coffee shop and just scribbled and looked up past forgotten scraps of writing which was surprisingly good (for mere scraps), Next think I know hours and I mean hours passed without me realising and I am in a bubble of pure bliss. Sigh. The creative juices are flowing.

What can I say? That date with my muse sparked a much needed idea so I have something to work on until I am able to plunge fully into revision land (Early April). I almost forgot what it felt like when an amazing story idea engulfs all your senses at the same time.

Therefore, I have decided to do things a little differently this time and post tidbits of my progress as I go along so I’m not just living in my head such as word count and deadlines. I also decided to go completely crazy and let someone actually read it which goes against my rule of not allowing anyone within breathing distance of my first draft. There’s still time to retract that offer so we’ll see. The plan to this madness is to desensitize  me to the nervousness that will inevitably follow when I send soon-to-be-revised manuscript to a trusted reader/writer friend to look over. I’m already getting heart palpitations at the thought… (must find cat to get me through such times).

So the novel planning awaits…as much as a seat-of-your-pants writer can plan anyway.

Love and light

🙂

“It takes courage to be a writer. Courage to face yourself, work through your demons & make your art.”

-Terry Rossio

Tumblr_ls7j1zw1eu1qfzy9ro1_500_large

Image

3 thoughts on “A Muse Date

  1. Going for coffee with your muse. What a lovely idea.
    Your muse obviously likes being treated 🙂

    And I so get the nervousness. Nearing the end of typing in my short story, the day is drawing closer when someone else will get to read it. Eeeeek! *disappears under desk*

    Good luck!

  2. Good for you for figuring it out! That’s a truly nice scene to imagine – the bubble of bliss, the scraps of writing. I am learning to do this too (show up, get busy, let things happen) before the warning signs go too long unrecognized.

  3. Amazing what a change of scenery can do for creativity! And the coffee might help too. 🙂

    I have a terrible time sharing my work. But, so far, I’ve found myself even more excited about it after letting other writers have a look at it.

    I’m looking forward to hearing of your progress!

Leave a Reply

