Back into the Cave of Revision

Writing a novel is just like writing 3,215 tweets connected by a solid story arc, compelling characters, and a strong sense of place -Yuvi Zalkow

Today is officially my second day of getting back into my first draft revision and I finally feel like I’m making progress. I stumbled across a few long-forgotten notes and was stunned to realize that I have already logged in 48hours of solid revision-related work before I had my break from revision. I honestly have no idea how I managed to fit all that in between moving my life to Canada and working. I surprise myself sometimes. I’m even more surprised that I kept a record. Therefore I have made a point to record what I’ve done each day to see how I can use that information to be more efficient in the future and to know when I procrastinate too much!

My next step in my revision plan-of-attack is outlining the book I want for my final rewrite (the one that’s in my head). So I’m really going to have to think about this and make sure it’s not a repeat of my first draft outline! But I know that story so much better now and I know the transformation from first draft to revised draft will be massive! Β For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been using Holly Lisle’sΒ How to Revise Your Novel (HTRYN) course as a guide during this process and do not regret it in the slightest. There aren’t many writing related books/courses that sing to me, but all of Holly’s stuff does. Maybe it’s her no bullshit approach.Β 

Oh and on a totally unrelated note, I think I finally have a title…but I’ll savor it for now and see if it still captures me.

That is all for now.

Love and light xx

7 thoughts on “Back into the Cave of Revision

  1. I honestly don’t know how I would ever have begun to revise without the Holly Lisle course! Good luck with your planning.
    And congrats on getting the title. Those few words that show the way to the story you want to tell are a huge step forward. πŸ™‚

    • I think it’s the accessible depth and detail she goes into her lessons. She gives incredible examples from her own manuscripts and drafts which really helped me wrap my head around everything. Also her ‘voice.’ I’ve done her other large course (How to think Sideways – which goes through the process of writing a book, writing queries, generating ideas and anything useful really!) and smaller ones and I always felt like..I can DO this, I’m getting really good guidance from someone who actually uses these techniques in her career! You should definitely look into it! Even her free writing newsletters and articles on her website are very helpful which is what I used before doing her paid course. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

