Progress update and what I can control

Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly  — Robert Kennedy

Photo: Thinking + Doing = Reality

Image

Since my last posting revision has been running smoothly. Well, if you can call brain strain  ‘running smoothly.’ There are moments when I cannot believe how much more difficult revision is for me. I love the WRITING part and just getting lost in the world, but fixing that world uses a lot of brain muscles I’m not used to. This must be because I’m not naturally a plotter and I don’t actively like thinking about certain things in advance. I have no doubt that all the painstaking notes I’m making on conflicts (or lack of), redundant scenes, character arcs, plot arcs, promises and TIME (just to name a few) will help my future first drafts come out slightly more cleaner than this one. I am absolutely DYING to jump into the rewrite RIGHT NOW, but taking the time to identity and fix everything that is wrong on scene cards will definitely help me and prevent me from writing a hundred-billion revised drafts. So far I have logged 86 hours of revision on this WIP….CRAZY!!!! I haven’t even gotten to touching my actual manuscript yet and doing actual changes.  Goes to show that doing a little bit of something consistently adds up! As I’m nearing the moment when I get to cut the manuscript to shreads and do an almost 100% rewrite I am so thankful I stumbled across Holly Lisle’s HTRYN course. I would have easily butchered this first draft by jumping into line edits and not truly fixing the BIG BROKEN BITS…hence all the pre-rewrite notes (86 hours worth and counting worth). 

If everything goes smoothly (smoothly for revision – I’ve learnt now to expect the unexpected) I will be diving into my rewrite and transforming my WIP into the book I want it to be in 2 weeks…TWO WEEKS! Still a very long way to go and anything can happen, but I can almost smell the finished piece ready to be given to beta readers and then eventually submitted to agents. That’s months and months away I know, but just being able to WRITE in the near future is making me very happy.

I  realize I can’t control everything related to this process. I cannot control that I will get what I want at the end of this WIP journey… but there are some things I can control. I CAN control the amount of effort I put into my revision and rewrite, I CAN control how I prioritize my WIP in relation to other things in my life, I CAN choose not to let insecurities and mishaps relating to my WIP get me down, I CAN choose to bring a positive and healthy mindset everyday to my work, I CAN create my ideal writing space (Fresh flowers, endless supply of water and healthy snacks…chocolate when I want), I CAN reward myself for my personal victories and most importantly I CAN dare myself to just…

DO.

IT.

I woke up today feeling insecure and feeling scared about this journey of creating a book. Like HELLO, has no one ever told you this gig is hard, the likely hood of getting published is…. I’m going to stop there. I can choose NOT to let this negativity get to me. 

So to all my fellow readers, writers and friends. BE POSITIVE. Give yourself permission to just do what you LOVE. When things go into negative, insecure land remember you aren’t alone, there are other writer-creatures in their little solitary cave creating a dream. 

When you are doing what you love – you’re having fun. So get out of your head and remember that! 🙂

Love and light,

Anushka xx

One thought on “Progress update and what I can control

  1. It’s hard to stay positive sometimes, especially during the revision process, but it’s all part of being a writer. Like you, I hope the lessons I learn with my first works will make future ones go more smoothly.

Leave a Reply

