First Scene Done!

A writer takes earnest measures to secure his solitude and then finds endless ways to squander it

-Don DeLillo

Cat and the moon

Scene #1 Inspiration

I had planned to begin my rewrite tomorrow but I was too excited and wanted to revise my first scene today. I am happy to say it has been a success and I am part-way through my second scene (out of 60 at this stage). It feels like an overwhelming process  and it took me almost 3 hours to revise and rewrite the first scene – that’s a lot of brainpower and concentration I wasn’t aware I had! It’s nice having a very detailed outline at hand so I’m just going to take it scene – by – scene and trust in the process. 

Pretty much all my scenes after this are completely new scenes so it will be interesting to see how they come together and how long they will take to get it to the standard I want it to be.

As a little experiment I really want to push myself this week and see if I can clock in 50 hours of revision. I revise regularly during the week but still haven’t been able to put in a ‘full-time’ hours even though I’ve had the time for it. I know revising is a lot of thinking and walking around at times, but now that I’m in the nitty -gritty of things I’m really curious to know how much I can do (without rushing through things).

So this week – it’s about 50 dedicated hours. 

I’ll probably be posting more regularly this week with mini -updates of my progress for those of you who are interested.

How is everyone going with their WIP?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

7 thoughts on “First Scene Done!

  1. You’re on the way, girl! Push it as hard as you are comfortable with. I’ll be waiting for your mini-updates.

    My WIP update: I finally completed chapters 20 and 21 in lesson seventeen of HTRYN. Thank God! Four more chapters to go. I can’t believe it.

    And, I may have figured out a way to cut the manuscript down to 100,000. More on that later.

    I agree with Kristina – your photo post is wonderful!

    • Thank you! I’ve been waiting to get to this stage for so long. That’s great about your progress! Four more chapters…almost there, how exciting! Look forward to hearing how you decided to cut it down. Lots of luck…remember to stretch!

  2. That quote is so true! Whenever I find myself with a free day, I suddenly feel like I have so many other things to do besides sit down and revise.
    Congrats on the great start, and I’m looking forward to hearing about some super progress. Fifty hours of revision is huge! Good for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

