Scene #2 Done!

Ole!’ to you, just for having the sheer human love and stubbornness to keep showing up

-Elizabeth Gilbert

gates

Scene #2 inspiration

Technically it was done yesterday but I didn’t get a chance to to post about it. It was a challenging scene, mainly because I had such high expectations for it which failed royally in the first draft. All together it took me four hours to revise but it seemed longer. Time so far has gone by strangely when I revise. I always feel like I’ve been at my desk for much longer and am always surprised that it’s only been an HOUR. I guess that’s what intense concentration does to you?

Currently finishing off scene #3 which will be the first of many completely new rewrites. It was really hard and the blank page gave me no answers and then the self doubt kicked in…but then I came across this AMAZING talk by author Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) about nurturing creativity. Definitely a big-fat-MUST-see

http://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius.html

I’ve been excited by everyone’s WIP updates so keep the progress updates coming!

Love and light,

Anushka xx

PS- The pictures I attach to my scene updates post are pulled from my inspiration for that scene. If you wanted to explore my head feel free to see my Pinterest boards and if you have any of a similar nature let me know. Always interesting to see what ideas inspire different writers.

3 thoughts on “Scene #2 Done!

  1. I agree, this phase of the revision is super intense. I can see why Holly recommends a timer. Most of the time, I find myself so immersed in my writing that I lose all track of time.
    My update for today includes finishing my second glue stick and having to resort to double sided tape. Good times! 🙂
    I watched that Melissa Gilbert video a year or so ago, and it is still with me. I loved the part about showing up, and took it to heart. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. The timer keeps me aware there is a world outside my screen and my fingertips.

    I’m starting Chapter 21. Only four more chapters to go.

    Off topic: Do you know how to position 2 or 3 photos horizontally on a WordPress page. I’ve tried unsuccessfully and, from reading various forums, I suspect I might need to use code (ugh!). Too bad I don’t know code. Any suggestions?

    • No idea actually! Coding is my weakness. I took me forever to figure out how to put a word count widget on my sidebar and it still doesn’t look the way I want it to. Maybe Kirsten might know? Sorry I’m not much help!

Leave a Reply

