Scene #6 Done!

The older I grow, the less important the comma becomes. Let the reader catch his own breath

 – Elizabeth Clarkson Zwart

What lurks outside

Scene #6 Inspiration

 

Technically it was done two days ago but I wanted to let it sit for a while before tweaking it a little bit. I took a day off from revising yesterday which was very difficult for me. But as I became more connected to the real world I enjoyed giving my brain a break. I make it a point to stop my rewrites when something exciting happens so my next session isn’t as daunting. So having that day off actually made me more excited to get back into things! 

Tomorrow marks one week since I began this phase of my revision and I did not expect it to fly by so fast. Unfortunately I did not make the 50 hours I was aiming for since I did not take into consideration that my love had just undergone knee surgery and that I would want to be there to take care of him – of course he comes first in my life! Despite that, I still managed 24 hours, 6.5 scenes and 11,820 new revised words. I learned a few good lessons with this.

  1. I cannot revise for a whole entire day
  2. I revise well in two session, one in the morning and one before I go to bed.
  3. 50 revision hours in a week might kill my brain because time works weirdly when I revise

It is nice to know what works well for me during this stage. When i’m typing away at my first draft if is all day everyday full steam ahead. Not quite the case with rewrites. 

So Scene #6 – 1076 words.

Thank you everyone for your encouraging support and your WIP updates. It feels so great to be connected with people living in the same writer’s cave I do 🙂

Love and light,

Anusha xx 

2 thoughts on “Scene #6 Done!

Leave a Reply

