Scene #8 Done!

A novel is a rare place you can simultaneously find yourself and lose yourself – Stephen Parolini 

fallen ballerina

Scene #8 Inspiration

This scene officially gave me biopolar.

In the first draft this scene was rather clean and one that I loved. So I went into it – rather stupidly – thinking that revising this scene will be a breeze! RUBBISH! I had put so much pressure on myself to make this scene dazzle and sparkle. Since this scene was already pretty much in tact, I didn’t have much to do which then made me paranoid. Maybe I was cutting a corner and not giving it justice? Or maybe I was just missing something important hence the fact it did not take me that long? Maybe the WHOLE DAMN THING WAS JUST STUPID TO BEGIN WITH.

I should obviously delete it and burn all remaining evidence.

I should feed it to the cat.

I should get a cat so I could feed it to the cat.

Amazing what a goodnights sleep and distance can do 🙂

I printed the scene out and read it like a ‘reader’ would. And I surprisingly enjoyed it. It wasn’t even as bad as my head made it seem.

This revision is turning me into a crazy woman.

But I can happily say 1756 words revised.

Ever had any of these scenes that make you question your mental sanity?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

4 thoughts on “Scene #8 Done!

  1. I am really enjoying following your revision journey, much in the way I enjoy watching sport, with awe, admiration and envy, wishing I could do the same! Good luck with it all and I look forward to reading the final version!

  2. How about every other one?

    The one I’m working on now is particularly troublesome because it is so important to the story. In spite of my scene cards and all my research, I need to change it the scene, but I can’t seem to get it right. I’m talking about three paragraphs at the beginning of the scene and three paragraphs at the end, for heaven’s sake.

    So, don’t feel alone. Revision will make you crazy until you understand the fine line between change it already or it’s fine (even good!). I still struggle with that understanding everyday!

    You are making fantastic progress! And, you have a great attitude!

  3. Hang in there! This is where a beta reader can really help. It feels very much to me like looking at a marvelous painting from two inches away–I can’t really tell if it’s any good this close up.

    Sounds like you have a keeper in this one. Lucky you, these kinds of scenes are few and far between for me!

Leave a Reply

