Scene #12 Done!

Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go

– E. L. Doctorow

Old mirrors

Scene #12 Inspiration

Short, sweet and very fast paced. Pacing wasn’t something I actively paid much attention to when writing but being more aware of time and how it moves between your fingers has really helped me in this revision. Since I knew this scene would be fast and short I chose to type it over longhand.

Took me an hour, the shortest rewrite so far.

704 words.

How are your words and pacing going? Do you think of time and how it passes?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

6 thoughts on “Scene #12 Done!

  1. I like the idea of writing the scene as quickly as it occurs in real time! I’ll have to play with that someday.
    The scene I’m in now (the one that has taken me all week… argggh) is very tightly integrated time-wise with the corresponding one in the male protagonist’s point of view. Things happen in his scene that happen simultaneously in hers, a kind of synchronicity. I had a lot of fun planning it, but it was really tricky to write it. So time has played a big role in this one!
    I’m going to put it away for a while, and see if it still makes sense in a few weeks. 🙂

    • That’s what I plan on doing with my current scenes, putting it away until I can look at them with fresh eyes. You have some interesting timing going on in your scene. It sounds creatively fun in a challenging-if you-don’t know-what’you’re-doing kind of way! I only have the one protagonist and it’s in first person and it follows her journey in the creepy scary world she is in. It’s hard to tell now how all the different pacing in each scene will read together at the moment, but I hope it keeps people, or at least me, intrigued and guessing.

  2. I’m within one page of completing Chapter 22 revison. The final scene is a house-to-house battle lasting about ten minutes. The reader receives critical information, and an important secondary character dies (I hate to kill a good guy!) I’ve struggled all week to keep the timing realistic and, hopefully, it’s ok. My understanding is, when a soldier is involved in something dangerous, time speeds and slows in strange ways. I’ll check with my in-house military advisor, my husband.

    • Sounds interesting! I’m very, very intrigued. Is this your final chapter or did you have a couple more to go? I’m straining my brain to remember, but all I know is that you are very close! Time can be eerie that way,moving in strange ways and we as the writer have power to make it move as we will!

Leave a Reply

