It’s not you, it’s me.

Gargoyle

Image 

Dear Outline,

You have been good to me and shown a stubborn panster such as myself that there are benefits to sharing the rest of my life with you. I even had our wedding planned and that’s saying a lot because I never was one of those girls until I met you.

I realize now that you aren’t completely right for me. It’s like you suffocate me and tell me what to do even when you’re wrong. I know it’s still the early stages and that I should give you a chance, try couples therapy, anything to reignite the passion we had for each other but…

I’m just not feeling it.

I’m moving on. You see, I met someone who is willing to change a few scenes for me.

That said, it’s not you, it’s me. Actually on second thoughts, it’s just you.

– Writer

PS-  You can keep the 3 deleted scenes, I’m taking the rest. 

Anyone else experience the joy of getting deep into their revision only to realize that some scenes just aren’t meant to be? Are you a plotter, a panster or little bit of both?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

4 thoughts on “It’s not you, it’s me.

  1. Pantser! Once the first draft is done, I will be more critical and consider how the revisions will affect other parts of the story. Because change begets changes, and there could be unexpected consequences. I may take on some “outlining” traits then. But when an idea comes to me, I have to let it run how it wants.

  2. Oh yes, I’ve met that sleazy outline.
    It seduced me with promises of beautifully executed scenes, and subtle plot twists. It promised a perfect ending, with a word count that fit right into the expectations for your genre.
    But then after a few fun scenes, I found myself sitting in front of a blank piece of paper, my pen poised, but no words flowing out. I waited for it to call, to take me fearlessly forward into the scary middle of my novel.

    Where was my outline now? Out with another writer, leading the poor soul to believe that writing a novel would be a walk in the park, with beautiful sunsets and romantic dinners?
    Hah! I’ll take my seat of the pants adventurer any time, over the false hope that my outline will stay true to me.

    Well, until revision that is. Now I have to concede that the outline must be my master, but, like you, the pantser in me won’t be happy until we rip a few scenes out and replace them with better ones.

    Great post, Anushka!

    • Sounds like a good plan. With my first draft I make sure I know my start, middle and end and have a few candy bar scenes that i’m excited to write to guide me along. Revision on the other hand, I’m much more strict. I almost feel mean giving myself an outline.

Leave a Reply

