My trip to Writer Hell – Scene #17

It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer

– Albert Einstein

Monster jars

Scene #17 Inspiration

So. I’m alive. It’s been a while since my last scene update and I was truly beginning to wonder if I would actually live long enough to fix this scene.  I’m sure as writers  we can all relate to that scene. You know the one that makes you contemplate banging your head against a brick wall so you did not have to be stuck working on that scene. In fact, cleaning also seems strangely enticing when faced with that scene. If you look through the twitter hash tag #writerhell you can find lots of related references to that scene.

Deep breath.

Despite being stranded in my own version of writer hell I managed to refrain from viciously barking at anyone who dared approach my lair. Apparently writers get temperamental and at times downright scary towards loved ones and stray children when something is not going according to plan? Clearly I would never…okay, maybe. Lets not go there.

What I’m trying to say is…I tried everything short of selling my firstborn to the devil to get this scene right. I drew maps, word graphs, I changed writing locations, wrote longhand, typed frantically with a timer, deleted everything and started over (times 8), meditated, napped, pulled out the big guns (instant coffee), searched for visual prompts, wrote to music, wrote in silence, procrastinated, seriously contemplated selling my first born to the devil and may have even cried a little bit. It’s all part of the journey right?

3370 word.

How do you cope in writer hell?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

11 thoughts on “My trip to Writer Hell – Scene #17

  1. Your first quote by Einstein got me motivated this morning. This is what it takes to write a novel. Just stick with it and keep writing. At least that’s what I tell myself! And I’ll get there.

  2. Sometimes you need to step away for some fresh air. Exercise. Do something else you enjoy. And then come back to the problem scene. It doesn’t always work. But sometimes a break away from writing helps.

  3. Oh no! This sounds quite dire.
    Perhaps it might help to let this one go, do the best you can with it, but make notes and move on. The first time I did this lesson (I’m on my second pass … don’t ask!) I had a few scenes that just didn’t feel right. In fact, one was titled ‘What the hell?’ ! Turns out these scenes were placeholders for what really needed to go there, and once I had some insights, I took them out and wrote what I needed in their place. It would have made no sense to polish them or struggle with them, because they were slated for cutting anyway.
    I think, there’s a reason this isn’t fitting together, and it’s certainly not for lack of effort!

    • Thank you so much for this message, really helped put things in perspective. I look forward to revisiting it later and seeing how it fits in the whole scheme of things. Glad I’m not the only one who experiences this. I’m sure there’s a reason I struggled with that scene and I look forward to discovering what it is I need to know about it as I move on with the next few scenes 🙂

  4. Oooooo, writer hell *shudders* 😉

    It is all part of the journey, but, the journey is suppose to be enjoyable lol. It sounds like you seriously need a break honey 🙂

    Step away from the laptop honey (and the instant coffee) and work on another scene for a while. Go back to it at a later date. Forcing it may a tally be making it worse 😦

    Good luck, deep breathes 🙂

    Xx

    • Thanks, I feel so much better now. It’s good just being able to let go and move on and see how it all reads once I’m done – which is normally what I do but seemed to have forgotten when it came o this particular scene, oops. Everything is much more enjoyable now, phew!

  5. I had a recent moment of writer hell when realizing that 3 hours of editing/rewriting had produced… nothing. My file backup system had replaced the edited file with the previous version. Apparently, I am never allowed a job writing about computer applications and their proper use. Maybe it was more a writer crying session. Good thing I have always committed anything I have written (or typed) to memory.

    Still, what a waste.

    Love the blog, BTW. Really inspiring.

    • Thank you! I quite like yours too! Oh writer hell/computer malfunctions, why do we do it? Luckily, I haven’t lost anything this time round *touch wood* so I feel your pain. Look forward to reading more of your posts too.

Leave a Reply

