Scene #24 and #25 Done!

Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple

― Dr. Seuss

Dark Forest

Scene Inspiration

Again two complete rewrites. Both scenes turned out much better that I thought and they both have the potential to be fleshed out with more dialogue if needed once I go through them  once again. For now I think the best thing is to let them simmer in darkness (it is a dark story after all) instead of pick and pull at it until my brain goes numb. I don’t want to experience that dead feeling anytime soon.

I’m aiming for two more scenes by the end of the night while the motivation and focus is there. Maybe the Olympics is inspiring me more than I realize even though I’m not going out of my way to watch it. I’m not sacrificing my writing time unless I have to.  You see I have this little goal in my mind to get all 7 scenes done by the start of August. After that I have 30 more scenes left and a scene a day for the next month sounds quite manageable. Now that I can see the finish line for this rewrite I want to do more and pick up the pace once again. I am very ready to have my trusted journalism bestie beta read it for me and I’m craving feedback from fresh eyes. 

Between the revision bursts I love to stalk  visit some of my favorite author blogs and read the how-they-got-their-agent posts and their publishing journey posts which makes me really excited. Then I come across an author who had their story down and revised (I assumed they revised) in three months before submitting. 12 months later and her debut is out this September! I know all publishing journeys are different (and slower)  and that this WIP might never be the one that gets published. But surfing through blog posts makes me realize I can go faster if I choose to and it does not necessarily equate to losing quality. I just need that razor sharp focus athletes have in their eyes when they sprint to the finishing line to get me through..

Anyone have a possible end date on their revision? Either way I am cheering for you and breaking out the virtual champagne. Who knows, I might even share 😉 

Love and light,

Anushka xx

11 thoughts on “Scene #24 and #25 Done!

  1. I have found that editing can last forever if I let it. So, I’m backing off of the copyedits this week and am getting ready to query my novel. I also know how long querying can take, so I can certainly pick away at the weak words in between agent queries.

    I need to be in the right frame of mind when I read how other authors got their agents so quickly. Sometimes I’m inspired by those kinds of stories, but other times I feel really dispirited. I tell myself that fast isn’t always better and I’m reminded of Anne Lamotte’s quote (paraphrased): “People who do too well too quickly are a Greek tragedy waiting to happen.” I take comfort in that thought, and I realize how much I have learned about writing simply by all the revising I have done.

    You are so right about needing that razor-sharp focus. I could use me some of that! 🙂

    • I know what you mean about needing to be in the right frame of mind. Sometimes when I read a really great book it makes me a bit dispirited about my own work or it does the complete opposite and gives me a surge of inspiration to work on mine. Like the quote by the way 🙂

  2. I do have an end date, but mine is a bit further out– for some reason I’m not happy unless I have a first draft simmering alongside my revision, and that slows me down.
    However, I’d like to be through this revision pass by the end of October. If I reach this goal, I’ve promised myself I get to do Nanowrimo. If I don’t finish though, I’m going to use the energy of Nanowrimo to finish this revision pass!
    Either way, I’ll consider it a win. 🙂

    • I am always inspired by your goals. October is not too far away at all. I’m using NaNo as a motivator too because I really want to take part in that incredible energy and work on something new again. Nano in Australia is coming into summer and I love the birds and the electricity of the air when I write. Really looking forward to it. Fingers crossed my revision will be under control then!

  3. I hope the ‘simmering in the dark’ worked. I find it always helps to put something away for a while and then come back to it a couple of weeks later. Reading aloud helps too, especially to an audience such as a writing group. As well as their feedback, just the act of of reading to other people helps you spot mistakes.

    • Thank you! Writing has been squeezing into cracks of time so I’ve been a bit quiet on the blog while I’m learning to juggle forgotten friends and revision. But everything is coming into balance once again. I still stalk your posts though!

  4. hi anushka! i’ve been reading through a lot of your posts (sheepish face) and they’ve helped me a lot to keep writing on a normal schedule— so thank you so much and i hope your writing is going really well!

  5. Steinbeck once said “Abandon the idea that you are ever going to finish. Lose track of the 400 pages and write just one page for each day, it helps. Then when it gets finished you are always surprised.”

    This has been my mantra lately. The way I’ve been doing things. It’s true…a little at a time adds up big. I think we are all so focused on the final product that we often don’t simply look at what’s in front of us…and enjoy.

    Great blog. Now following 🙂

Leave a Reply

