Living in the revision cave.

I love writing. I love the swirl and swing of words as they tangle with human emotions

–  James Michener

 

My new revision space, the energy is incredible.

Let me begin this post by saying I’m alive. I did not intend to be gone away from this blog for so long, but rest assured I have been productive. Unfortunately I had to make the decision if I was a blogger or a writer because I was getting a little bit time poor. Also, lack of internet access does make blogging a little bit hard and there was no way I was going to type posts on my phone. I did however kept up with all of your updates and progress and commented when could.

Last month has been full of many new things which gave my revision schedule a bit of a shake up.  I took it all in my stride and tried not to be bitter about the chunks it took out of my revising day, because sometimes you have to live a little and be present in the life you live (outside your head that is).

I had a cousin visit from overseas and did the typical ‘Australia’ things like feed Kangaroos.  Also I  decided I would like to balance my life with non-writing commitments, like say, a job so that took a little bit of adjusting. But that was not what impacted my revision time the most….picking up the Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons was what did. It took me on a wonderful and unexpected detour. I never read that genre, but have I been missing out!  I had no choice but to devour the trilogy in a matter of days (four I think). I tried to leave the rest until I finished my own revision but I just could not do it, I needed to read it, I needed to know more.  The impact it had on me took a while to shake off and I still think about the journey it wrenched my heart through.  I just hope that my own story and characters leaves a little something special to the readers who may eventually read it too.  It was the first non-fantasy book I have read which left me feeling the urge to write outside that genre. That’s a big thing too, for me. I’ve always been drawn to the dark and macabre nature of otherworldly characters.

As for my revision progress it’s been going good! I am over half way at 56 000 words and today I realized I needed to stop and print out the whole thing and read what I’ve done so far. I am reaching the end of my WIP and the scenes I have in mind are solid and do not need to be written from scratch. I felt if I continued on without reading over what I have written yet and fixing the threads which have been bothering me, my grand climax and build up will be a weak echo of what I want it to be. I feel if I don’t read what I have as a ‘reader’ I just won’t do the story justice for the end scenes. The last thing I want is something substandard of first draft quality which will mean I have to revise and rewrite that section again – something I don’t want to do because I really want this revision to be tight (and not take the rest of my life).

So this week is all about cups of tea and reading  my WIP like a reader and giving what I have done a face lift and some tweaking.Will also post some belated mini scene updates if you like.

Have you ever stopped mid revision to go back over what you read?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

6 thoughts on “Living in the revision cave.

  1. I love your desk: the clear space, the light, the view…. very inspirational!

    I often stop mid-way through my work to reread what I’ve written (it reminds me where I’m going or shows me if I’m going down a new path I hadn’t even realized…)

    • Re-reading is definitely helping me iron out the problems in difficult scenes. So glad I decided to trust my gut and do it. I normally don’t because I’m worried I won’t move forward but reading through what I have so far is definitely what I needed.

  2. I don’t reread anything in my first drafts except for the last few paragraphs of what I wrote the day before, and I wasn’t going to reread in this revision either. But another writer coaxed me to show some of my chapters to him, and I ended up reading them over for mistakes.
    I was glad I did.
    There were some plot points that I forgot and can wrap up nicely in my upcoming scenes!

    I love your revision space, especially the clear desk with the lovely greenery outside. Happy revising!

    • Thank you, it’s a very productive revision space. I’m glad i read through what I had already as well…I’m realizing it’s not all rubbish and the scenes that were difficult have better solutions now. You were right about saying a ‘filler scene’ was needed so you can find what needs to go there 🙂 I’ve never been a perfectionist but this revision is making me slightly controlling haha i need to loosen up and let the juices flow as it happens and just make sure I’m there ready to knuckle down and get things done.

Leave a Reply

