IWSG: Is it September already?

IWSG LINK

I’m writing this hoping that it is still Wednesday somewhere on this planet earth. Unfortunately I missed my IWSG post last month and really did  not want to miss out again, so I apologize for this post being a tiny bit late!

Lately I have been thinking about my age. I know it might sound strange to some but I feel like I’ve always been one of those people who put pressure on myself to get things done. By now I should have accomplished way more things than what I have already done (according to me of course). I have been told that I have to acknowledge what I have done and seen but I can’t just seem to settle with that being good enough. I need to do EVERYTHING and now.

Right now.

As of right this second this revision needs to be complete and so perfect it sings by itself, a series will be outlined in detail, a new novel written in a day,  queries sent and representation offered AND my debut book  should be coming out tomorrow. Realistic right?

I am not afraid of getting old, not at all. I love turning a year older every birthday because I hated my teenage high school years with a passion.  What I’m afraid of is not getting things done. I’m afraid that a time will come when nothing will be possible and my dreams will be an unattainable possibility because I simply cannot do the things I want to do because I left it too late.

This problem I have does not only relate to writing but with everything I want to do. Will I see the places I want to see, climb the mountains I want to climb and learn the languages I want to speak? What if I have kids one day and all the dreams and goals that make me who I am suddenly seize to be?

I read this post The mountain will tell me when I am old on Paulo Coelho’s blog and could not have come at a better time, although there are days when I forget this message.

Age does not limit us, our actions do.

I end this post with this with a little expert that I loved.

I decided that this mountain would tell me when I get old.
So once a year, I return to climb this mountain. One day, I will be unable to climb it and when that day comes, it will be a landmark moment, a turning point, telling me that I can no longer overstretch myself that way and that I need to find something else. I will find something else.
So this mountain is a symbol for me – Paulo Coelho

Anyone else feel like this?

Love and light,

Anushka

4 thoughts on “IWSG: Is it September already?

  1. I know exactly where you’re coming from honey 😦

    I look back over the 20 years that I’ve completely wasted, but I try not to beat myself up over it, there’s no point 😉

    How old are you? I bet you’re you get than me 🙂

    Don’t give up, you’ll get to where you want to be, and if that’s aged 84, then so be it 🙂

    Xx

      • Oooo, do t say quarter of a century that makes me feel Sooo old! Lol 😉

        Yeah, I guess you’re right, thinking about it, I’m not sure I could have been a writer 20 years ago, I didn’t know enough about anything 😉

        Awwwww, thanks Anushka, do I? Really? Wow, I’ve never really thought of myself as being driven 🙂

        Xx

  2. I used to feel that way, and rush about trying to fit everything into one day in the hope that it would make my future better. It’s hard to explain, but at some point that changed. Suddenly, ‘now’ is the most important moment in my life, and in fact, the only one I truly have control over.
    I really like your quotation about the mountain because it does epitomize the concept that all we can know is the present. We can’t worry about what the future will bring … because the future will bring what it will, regardless of our apprehensions about it.
    Savor this time! Fill it with good things, and the rest will take care of itself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

