NaNoCreature Interview #4!

Finding My Creature proudly presents its first NaNo-Dude-Creature!

Enjoy!

>CREATURE PROFILE:

 

Name: Joe Hinojosa      

Species/Sex: Human/Male

Occupation: Searching

Location: In the desolation of Texas

Plotter/Panster: Pantser.

NaNo username: Joe Hinojosa

Genre: Literary Fiction/Religious Geared up and ready to go, although by the time November shows up it will undoubtedly falter, leaving me curled up in a fetal position crying days on end.

>CREATURE INTERVIEW

1. Welcome NaNoCreature where is it that you lurk?

I can be found in various places, on Facebook.com/joehinojosa76, on Twitter @joehino76, and on Joehinojosa.wordpress.com.

2. Is this your first time doing NaNoWriMo?

Thank you for asking. No, this is not my first NaNo, but my second. Last year, 2011, was my first and I actually won. Woot woot!

3. How did you prepare for NaNo?

Marital breakdown and divorce, getting together with a friend with whom we shared an attraction only to have it fall apart as soon as she got me to move in…the bitch. My emotions actually fuel my desire to escape which I directed towards my 2011 NaNo. This year’s preparations came from a short story I wrote that inspired me expand on the idea.
4. What is your NaNoNovel about in 30 words or less?

Eli’s infidelity causes him to lose his wife, Jasmine. When Jasmine finally moves on, Eli becomes concerned with her choice and tries to intervene  thinking to save her.
5. What inspired you to write this story?

A short story, the main difference being the Jasmine was the unfaithful person and Eli seemed to be more of a stalker. Most of the plot will remain the same, just the motivation behind Eli’s actions will change. I think the main ideas behind a lot of what write arises from the feelings of betrayal regarding my exes. I tend to write about unfaithful women, but it was becoming a bit snarky so I changed it up for the novel. I’m fascinated, almost obsessed with why someone will cheat on a decent person.
I also wanted to write about how the betrayal affected not only the spurned, but the cheater and even family and friends.. I wanted him to face the fact that he ruined the best thing he ever had with another person, and I wanted him to try to try and repair some of the damage as an act of contrition, hoping for forgiveness from her, but also hoping to forgive himself.
The bulk of the story motivation before, and trying to reconcile himself to the aftermath.
6. Do you write with music or in silence?

Silence, although sometimes I use the TV as white noise. Occasionally I will play some music to pump myself up. I also will play around mindlessly with my guitar when I’m stuck. Sometimes the act of playing music and getting my mind off of the story will allow me to invent a new complication, or how to resolve an unintended complication.
7. What is your writing ritual?

I don’t really have a ritual, per se, but I find that I do most of my writing when I should be sleeping. It also helps when I go out to a coffee shop to write. Getting together with a group of writing friends also helps get me into the writing mood.
8. What is the most memorable piece of writing advice you have received?

I’m not sure if this is good or bad, but I really haven’t received any writing advice. The only thing of significance that had aided me is discovering NaNo in the first place. I had tried several times in the past to write, but I always quit after maybe 500 words due to my insecurity. NaNo allowed me to give myself permission to try and fail. Although now that I think about it, I have been told to stop trying to edit as I write. I do that a lot.

>CREATURE CAVE

Tell us about your writer cave in 5 words

I’m kinda floating between homes.

***

Thank you Joe for stopping by and filling this out when you were under the weather! Best of luck with the remainder of NaNo,  judging by your updates you are on a role!

Love and light,

Anushka xx

One thought on “NaNoCreature Interview #4!

  1. Pingback: My NaNoCreature Interview with Finding My Creature | Joe Hinojosa

Leave a Reply

