Breaking Routine

When I see beautiful places,the stories start talking…

Taking in the tea trails, Sri Lanka

Taking in the tea trails, Sri Lanka

Routine is a wonderful thing, but breaking routine is absolutely delightful.

I haven’t been working on my WIP last month and it felt surprisingly fantastic. Instead, I went travelling around beautiful and isolated parts of Sri Lanka last month and it got me thinking about the concept of breaking routine and how it related to my own writing process.

Writing if you aren’t careful can drain and leech everything you have. For a while that’s how my writing life felt to me and then I realized something during my month of uninhibited exploring – One MUST fill the creative well. Not just for the sake of your ‘art’ but for you. In my case, the act of simply sitting at my desk and working through my revision edits was just not enough to fuel me to the end.

Was I still excited about my story?

Yes.

Could I work on it?

No.

I felt like I was dying from exhaustion and my muse needed CPR. Something needed to change if I wanted to see this WIP complete.

So I broke routine.

_MG_9568

Such beautiful color ..

I took up photography and saw life through a different lens.

I wrote poetry and stretched my mind to see words differently.

I bonded with beautiful people despite the language barrier.

All in all, I was filling my body and soul with good things.

Falling in love with this sari a little bit

Falling in love with this sari a little bit

Travelling is a great passion of mine and every trip I learn something new about myself and the world. I was born in Sri Lanka, and despite visiting previously, this is the first time I left the country with a strong connection to my own sense of identity. For the first time in my life I saw the way a sari draped around a woman’s body absolutely beautiful! Here I was spending my youth avoiding looking ‘ethERnic’ at all cost. What was wrong with me?

You don’t need to go overseas to break routine to fill the well and nourish yourself – but you do need to be exposed to new things.

It is so easy to get caught up  in a routine that stunts growth – so if you take anything from this post I hope you find a way to break routine a little bit every day. It doesn’t matter if you work or if you study or if you are based at home – there is something you can do to shake things up a bit and experience something new.

Although the world is getting smaller, there is just so many things to see!

Just go outside your front door 🙂

How do you break routine a little bit everyday?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

12 thoughts on “Breaking Routine

  1. Wow, so very jealous! 🙂 I completely agree – the thing I’ve found hard about doing the daily first-draft blog is running out of creativity. My only break in routine is through reading, since the rest of it is out of my control more or less, but I have enjoyed getting immersed in different worlds through books (I just have to make sure not to plagiarise ideas!). We are taking the kids to Scotland for a week soon so hopefully some new experiences then will help boost my brain cells. Glad you had a great trip: more pictures please!

    • Hi Amanda, lovely to hear from you! I think I’ve caught up on your blog posts now 🙂 I hope your creative tank is filling. Scotland sounds like fun, your kids are so lucky! I still can’t comprehend what it would feel like to live somewhere close to many countries…Australia is pretty much neighbors with Antartica hahaha I’ll be putting more pics up don’t you worry. A certain puppy ate my laptop charger so it’s put a hold of things. Still love her though, I’ll just keep my WIP far, far AWAY from her!

      • Funnily enough one of the things that stopped me pursuing emigration to NZ was the fact that I haven’t seen much of Europe yet (I’ve seen more of Aus and NZ than even the UK and I’ve lived here all my life.)
        I’m impressed you caught up on the blog, it must seem a splurge of misery read all in one go! I’m glad you’re back, I’ve missed you!

  2. Your sari looks beautiful! You must break routine. I haven’t written everyday because I’m a mom, work and have family. When I worked as a writer-journalist, I lost a lot of the need to write when I came home. Break from routine is what many authors and writers need. I will leave a short story alone for a week or weeks before I return to it with more powerful eyes. Lovely pictures! ~ Rebecca

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like the pictures! Hoping to put more up once I get a new charger for the laptop – got to love having a overlarge puppy who loves anything shoes, wires…and reading glasses! Break of routine has been bliss, I just need to remind myself when I’m in the thick of things to take a break and do something else!

  3. That sari is gorgeous on you! I hope you were able to bring it home. 🙂
    Even the littlest things can help break the routine: an evening with friends or family, a great movie, a long walk. It’s funny, because sometimes the time away from the WIP can be almost as productive as the time in front of it, even though it might not necessarily feel that way.

    Your photography is a really great addition to your blog! I always enjoy your pictures.

    • Thank you for the compliment and I’m glad you like the pictures! It’s nice to see my shots improving in baby steps! hahaha I know what you mean about not feeling like a break will be any good when you are actually deep in revision. I turn into such a pj-wearing hermit once I really knuckle down and I forget what outside feels like. I’ll figure out the balance concept one day… 😉

  4. Amen. I completely agree. Life and living it to the fullest is all about exposure to new things. I need to do this more myself. I’ve been in too much of a routine rut lately, too… I noticed your absence on WordPress but I’m glad you were out doing things for you! And I agree with Kirsten, you look lovely in a sari!

    • Thanks Jessica, I wrote a poem while I was away and thought of you actually! I know what you mean about routine rut…but I know you’ll shake things up! Sometimes just dancing around the house to terrible music does just the trick ;p Not that I would admit to doing that….um.

  5. You are so right! I’ve been tormenting myself for months because I just can’t find the inspiration I need to begin another novel. What I need is spring, which is actually going to show up in Colorado in the next few weeks! Getting dirty in the yard, planting flowers and tomatoes, and watching my husband mow the lawn will give my mind a rest. Venturing into the mountains, sitting by a stream, and collecting beautiful images always helps. Thanks for reminding me of what I already knew.

    BTW, you look so gorgeous in the sari. I’m glad you’re embracing your heritage.

    • After HTRYN you deserve a break! That course is intense, I don’t know how anyone comes out of it without some level of creative exhaustion. There’s nothing quite like the first signs of springs to feed the creative well, enjoy the little moments until the next story leaps out and claims you! We are getting into the cooler months and I’m really looking forward to being rugged up and drinking an endless supply of hot chocolate while I finish the rest of this revision. x

  6. I love the idea of breaking routine… it think I need this because I’m getting that sick of working feeling on one of my stories. Great post.

Leave a Reply

