Writing to silence

“Silence is more musical than any song.”

— Christina Georgina Rossetti

Somewhere along the way on my writing journey, the music disappeared.

Did it get stolen?

No.

It simply ceased to be.

Writing to silence is a beautiful thing. I hear everything, yet nothing at the same time.

Every story has a different process and this one is silence. I respect that now, after all this time. For so long I wanted to be the writer with the cool playlists, filled with inspirational songs and artists. But I realise now, it wasn’t to be.

This story is silence, like snow.

The world I explore is abandoned and cursed. The heroine, alone and lost.

There are secrets and blood.

A forgotten past.

Music disappeared from the story, because there is so much within the silence that can be heard.

Screams, tears and the missing links.

…I believe my muse has been trying to tell me this all along.

I am beginning to fall in love with my WIP once again. The second round of revision feels different, more precise and closer to almost there. I am ruthless with my cutting and rewrites – and feel empowered – because I am a different writer. One who will sacrifice anything to make sure the characters can be heard.

It isn’t easy to delete chapters or a beautiful character…but in the silence, I heard the final whispers of the story.

Have there been moments when the misty pieces began to reveal itself to you?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

7 thoughts on “Writing to silence

  1. And I wanted to be the writer who could write in silence! There have been times when I can, mostly because I don’t have a choice, but most of the time I’m hopeless with silence.
    But there are many times the story arises from the mist!
    Congratulations on what sounds like wonderful progress. 🙂

    • Thank you! I laughed at the first bit, we always want what we can’t have, so to speak haha I find it fascinating each writer has their own process and that sometimes it’s the story that has the final say.

  2. I always envied people who had sound tracks to their books as I have to have silence when I’m writing or, if I need to drown out the sound of kids playing and dogs barking, I have to have music I know so well it’s almost the same as silence.
    When I was younger, silence terrified me. It reminded me of the bit in The song ‘All I Really Want’ when Alanis Morissette sings “why are you so petrified of silence, here can you handle this?” has a pause and then continues “did you think about your bills, your ex, your deadlines, or when you think you’re gonna die”
    I used to hear all the voices telling me what a bad person I was and how I would never amount to anything, so I played Metallica loudly to drown it out. Now I know that was the depression talking, and I’ve learned to ignore it. I discovered silence while hiking, in the Alps, in New Zealand, and I found it replenished my soul.
    These days there isn’t enough silence, but sometimes I turn off the radio, when the kids aren’t in the car, tune out the rattling of broken bits, and enjoy the endless nothing.
    Anyway, sorry for the ramble, and I love that you’ve fallen in love with yout WIP again. Trust the silence! 🙂

Leave a Reply

