Declutter

I’m not crazy, it’s my characters talking to me in my head

-Ksenia Anske

Photo credit: Leah Johnston

Photo credit: Leah Johnston

Life has been crazier than normal this October. I blame the ravens that have been cluttering up my mind. As well as the unnecessary tumbleweeds taking up valuable brainpower and focus.

I spent this morning releasing the contents of my brain into a journal and it felt great to channel the fullness I have been carrying around somewhere. Strangely enough, I have so much more energy and time to catch up on everything I haven’t been able to get a handle on such as:

Blogging.

Writing.

Revising.

Beta reading.

AND cleaning the house believe it or not –  and it’s only lunchtime!

There is less than three months until the year is over and I believe we can all still make some serious headway and accomplish goals we have been working towards by taking the time to reassess and remember what they are.

Top 3 goals I want to achieve by 2013 are:

  1. Complete Dancing Peregrine Revisions
  2. Complete first draft of New_NaNo_Project
  3. Consistently workout 3 times a week.

How about you? What top three goals do you have your eyes set on?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

 

14 thoughts on “Declutter

  1. My challenges for this year were to get an agent for Dragon Wraiths, finish Baby Blues, and complete my daily blog challenge. Well, I self-published both novels (not as good as getting an agent, but still a brillant feeling) and I’m on day 300 of my daily blog/novel challenge. Thank you for making me stop and realise all I’ve achieved this year – it’s easy to feel like I haven’t reached my goals because the goal posts keep moving!
    Congratulations on getting back on track!

    • Thanks. A recent change, a couple of months ago max. Just needed to declutter everything, including the blog look. I read all your posts through email too – which is great. My evening isn’t complete without reading at least the first part of your blog! The annoying part about reading it on phone is trying to comment! Goodness…why am I so challenged with the written word when it comes to phones! haha

  2. I haven’t actually thought of my goals in terms of what I’m going to accomplish this year, but let’s see …
    I’m going to participate in NaNoWriMo, but as a rebel. I’m writing 50k of short stories with a common theme. This is a huge challenge because short stories are so not my thing!
    I’ve started revising my latest WIP (working title, Way of Wolves) and I’d like to be up to Lesson Four by the end of the year. I’m slow at revision, so if I make that I’ll be pretty happy.
    I want to read more books! I should try to finish every book I’ve started reading this year. (I’ve got about four going at once right now …)

    Good luck with your goals! I’d love to have a peek at Dancing Peregrine when it’s ready. 🙂

    • I’ve always wondered how people can have a few books going at once, until I started doing it. I feel bad about the ones which remain unfinished though! NaNo captured you again! haha, of course. Love the short story approach too – they must be so liberating! Look forward to hearing how you go, so keep us posted 😀 Love the title of your new revision. Does the process come naturally after doing it the first time? Revision takes a lot of brain power (or my entire brain power), I have no idea how people can do it so quickly. *Must purchase new, cooler brain.*

      Can’t wait to show you a peek. Also can’t wait to be done with it!

      …*commences procrastination routine*

  3. love your blog, and great goals! I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year too, so getting the first draft of my novel written is one of my goals- I also want to figure out my top college picks and work on developing a healthier lifestyle..

Leave a Reply

