Blog Tour: Inspiration Behind “Hope For Another Day”

sssss

Photo Credit : Devin Berglund

Hi everyone! Finding My Creature is excited to be hosting one of the stops for Devin Berglund’s Hope for Another Day  blog tour. I know she has been doing some serious behind the scenes hours in preparation for her Halloween Launch date this week!

You will recognize Devin from her guest post What About All That Platform Stuff? and it is so lovely to see her here again. She is definitely one inspiring creature!

You can find out her tour schedule HERE.

Over to you Devin!

***

___________________________________________________________________________

Many things go into the inspiration behind my stories… but would you like to know ONE of the things that really inspire me in writing and in life in general?

Yes?

Yay, I love talking about this… Do you love fairy tales?

I do!! They inspire me so much.

They are my favorite stories! And why? Because… they always give a glimpse of hope.

There is usually a happy ending. Except in Grimm’s Fairytales – but there is usually always a glimpse of hope in those stories too.

I find that now more than ever, our world needs fairytales. These stories encourage and inspire people to live great lives filled with happiness and hope.

“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” – Albert Einstein

I believe what Einstein said, to be 1000% (and yes I meant to add the extra zero) correct.

Before Writing Hope For Another Day…

I fell asleep, but then woke up in the middle of the night. I found myself thinking about a troll.

Yes…

You heard me correct! I was thinking about a troll. I got a picture of a friendly little troll girl peeking out from behind a big rock and then I found myself asking questions about her. Who was she? Why was she hiding behind a rock? And who was walking in the forest at that time of the night to find her behind the rock?

I typed a bunch of things in my iPhone notes app. (I love this app by the way.) After getting all the ideas out I fell asleep again. The next day I went about my daily activities, but I couldn’t get her out of my mind.

When I think back to my childhood, one story pops into my mind right away. It was a story about a lonely troll living under a bridge. I’m sure you’ve heard of it – The Three Billy Goats Gruff

I always felt bad for the troll. I mean, I was happy the three goats got away from him. But, I still felt bad for the troll. At the beginning he was misunderstood, alone, lonely, starving, and hurting. And not to mention that his happy ending, wasn’t that happy – as he died. It was a sad ending for him.

And if you take a look at any other troll in any other story or movie, they also usually have a sad ending. Where they either turn to stone, or are killed. They are also big oafish looking creatures who don’t seem to be very smart.

Where are the happy endings, for Trolls?

There really are none.

So, I sat down to write Hope For Another Day. Fairytales are known for their magic. That magic is hope, happiness, and the possibility of getting second chances and achieving one’s dreams.

Once, a person told me that I shouldn’t live in a fairytale state of mind, but why not? You learn so much in life from fairytales.

If you don’t have hope? Happiness or second chances? Or the guts to achieve your dreams? What kind of life would you have?

One like the troll in The Three Billy Goats Gruff – instead of sitting under the bridge feeling bad for himself he should have gotten up to look for the greater good outside of his bridge. Who knows how his story would have ended, then?

The main question that drove Hope For Another Day is “What if a troll got a happy ending or a second chance?”

A rewarding fable about hope’s unexpected resurrection when it seems all hope is gone.“ – Erin Healy

Wow! With “Hope for Another Day,” Devin Berglund has masterfully crafted a story as enchanting as the most captivating fairy tale. It’s a story you won’t soon forget or ever want to.“ –Robert Liparulo

Book Blurb:

After losing her husband to a car accident, Silvia yearns for the normal life she once had and the love she lost. One night, while walking through the forest, her life is turned upside down when she discovers a mysterious secret in the forest.
This is a twist on the fairytales we were told while we were young. It’s a story about fate, loss, and giving life a second chance.

I really hope you check out Hope For Another Day! You can subscribe to my blog here and you will get it for free!

Be sure to enter my contest here! 🙂

1233520_10100105411013920_1132131785_n

I am a writer, dreamer, wanderer & all-time enjoyer of life. I love crafting stories that change lives. I recently finished my first book The Mason of Hearts. It is the first in a Fantasy Adventure trilogy. I am also working toward agent representation.

Get Hope For Another Day FREE HERE

10 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Inspiration Behind “Hope For Another Day”

  1. Pingback: NanoPrep Blog Series Part 4 – Staying Healthy As a Writer

  2. I loved this idea! Every story has an underdog who deserves a second chance and, even in fairy tales, a bad dude can achieve redemption. Thank you for sharing such a lovely story with us!

Leave a Reply

