January so far ::

Happiness is not something you postpone for the future, it is something you design for the present
– Jim Rohn

Photo Credit: Joel Robison

Photo Credit: Joel Robison

January so far has been filled to the brim with family time, sunshine, rain (Australia has such random summers in some places), new car, books, new authors, a lot of blog reading, tea drinking and fruit eating bliss.

2014 is a blank slate, filled with untouched pages. Ever since I can remember, there has always been something big happening each year and this is the first year where the path remains unwritten. Not just with my creative life, but also with life in general. It’s exciting.

The reason I haven’t blogged yet this year is because I have really been thinking about what I want this year to mean for me and what I want to achieve, experience and breathe. I want to come to the end of this year experiencing wholeness in all the major areas of my life – health, creative, love, spiritual, financial & business.

A great tip for those of you who haven’t had the chance to sit down to envision and plan for the year ahead, remember to write down everything you have achieved and accomplished in 2013 before starting. It’s so easy to be hard on yourself and feel like you aren’t doing enough, or you aren’t enough, but that simply is not true. Doing this made me realise how hard I can be on myself. 

Instead of boring you all with the goals I have set for myself and step-by-step plan of action (with room for the unexpected of course), I decided to do it differently this year and write down the lifestyle changes I want to integrate into my daily life instead.

  • Eat clean and drink 3L of water a day
  • Work on projects that give me joy on a daily basis, even for 15minutes
  • Surprise the people I care about with unexpected gestures
  • Take up yoga
  • Restrict internet/phone time
  • Look at my goals first thing in the morning and last thing at night so I don’t lose track. Where focus goes, energy follows after all.

I struggled to come up with a  ‘WORD’ for 2014,  some kind of beacon to the keep me on track throughout the year. Two years ago it was REINVENT. It was the year I said bye to the corporate job, relocated to Vancouver and went to acting school. 2013 was CREATE. It was the year I got married and got serious with my Dancing Peregrine revisions and became self-employed.  This year, the word that seems to have the right fit is NOURISH. I want to feel more connected to my life in mind, body and spirit, and something about the word NOURISH seems perfect.

How about you, do you have a word? What goals and lifestyle changes do you hope to embody in 2014?

Love and light,

Anushka xx

4 thoughts on “January so far ::

  1. Nourish is a perfect word. I really enjoyed this post – it felt relaxed and nourishing, especially compared with some I have read recently. The word summing up recent years for me is probably COPE or SURVIVE. I’d really like this year to be more positive. It’s had a rocky start! Maybe a nice positive word would help. Something like BREATHE might work!

  2. What a great post! It reminded me to be optimistic. Last year was a SURVIVE year for me as well, so this year is CREATE. CREATE a happier family, a stronger body, and a fantastic novel. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. You have wonderful goals! I might have to borrow goal number two from you. At the bottom of it all is always the thrill I get from creating something new.

    I read your post this morning (over coffee 😉 ) and so had all day to mull over my WORD. I finally decided on CHERISH. I want to cherish the people in my life, the love I have for writing and for reading and for music, and most of all how wonderful it is to be alive!

Leave a comment